, , , , ,



One of the most read, revered and translated ghazals by Progressive Urdu poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz found a new and fitting presence in Vishal Bharadwaj’s recently released film, Haider (based on Shakespeare’s classic, Hamlet). Here is the original ghazal as written by Faiz (and sung by Mehdi Hassan) and below is
the link to the ghazal as adapted for the film, in Arijit Singh’s voice:

Mehdi Hassan sings Gulon Mein Rang Bhare:

Gulon mein rang bhare baad-e-naubahaar chale
Chale bhi aao ke gulshan ka kaarobaar chale

I hope for flowers of different colours, and wish for breeze that will bring winds of change.
I implore you, come to me now, my love, with your coming, my garden of flowers may blossom again.

Qafas udaas hai yaaro saba se kuchh to kaho
Kahin to bahr-e-Khuda aaj zikar-e-yaar chale

I feel caged and gloomy today, my friends say something to the morning winds.
Tell it to bring with it the story of a friend.

Kabhi to subah tere kunj-e-lab se ho aaghaz
Kabhi to shab sar-e-kaakul se mushakbaar chale

Hope that someday the morning begins with to sweet sound of your lips
And the evening comes to an end, with the wonderful scent of your hair

Bada hai dard ka rishta yeh dil gharib sahi
Tumhare naam pe aaenge ghamgusaar chale

The bond of pain is strong, though the heart is weak
When we hear your name, we will gather together

Jo hum pe guzri so guzri magar shab-e-hijraan
Hamaare ashk teri aaqbat sanwaar chale

The hell we have experienced, so be it,
But, once this night of separation ends, our tears would prepared you for the next life

Maqaam Faiz koi raah mein jacha hi nahin
Jo kue yaar se nikle to sue daar chale

O Faiz, no place gave me as much pleasure in my journeys
Once I left my gathering of friends, I found comfort only in the arms of death

Here is the contemporary rendition from Haider, rendered beautifully in Arijit Singh’s voice: