Tags

, , , , ,

Chalte Chalte is a song from the film Pakeezah. This film is a 1972 Indian film, written and directed by Kamal Amrohi. The music is composed by Ghulam Mohammed and Naishad Ali. The film tells the story of a Lucknow Tawaif played by actress Meena Kumari who died shortly after the film was completed. Lyrics are written by Kaifi Azmi. Given Below is the song with its translation.

chalte chalte

chalte chalte yun hi koyi mil gaya tha

sare raah chalte chalte

vahee thamke reh gayee hai

meree raat dhalte dhalte

jo kahee gayee naa mujhase

woh zamaana keh raha hai

ke fasaana ke fasaana ban gayee hai

meree baat chalte chalte

yun hee koyee mil gaya tha

sare raah chalte chalte

shabe intejaar aakhir

kabhee hogee mukhtasar bhi

yeh chiraag yeh chiraag bujh rahe hain

mere saath jalte jalte

yeh chirag bujh rahe hain

mere saath jalte jalte

yun hee koyee mil gaya tha

sare raah chalte chalte

 

Translation:

While I was walking

I chanced to meet someone

While I was walking down the road

My night came to a standstill

Instead of moving towards dawn

The thoughts that I could never voice

Are on everybody’s lips

A tale

This chance encounter of mine

Has been stretched into a tale

I chanced to meet someone

While I was walking down the road

The night of expectation will

Someday reach fulfillment

These lamps

These lamps are extinguishing

Burning out with me

I chanced to meet someone

While I was walking down the road

difficult word meanings given below:

Shabe intezaar – the night of waiting. 

Muqtasar – actually means brief. Here the implication is that the night of expectation will someday be brief and hence fulfilled.

You can hear the entire song by clicking on this link:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flQb8zW7CrM

Taken from: http://bollywoodtranslations.blogspot.in/2009/09/pakeezah-chalte-chalte.html

 

