Tags

,

Here is another wonderful ghazal made popular by Jagjit Singh in his album Face to Face, written by Saabir Dutt

sachchi baat kahi thee maine
logon ne sooli pe chadhaya
mujhko zehar ka jaam pilaaya
phir bhi unko cha’in na aaya
sachchi baat kahi thee maine

I had only said the truth
People hung me on the gallows
Gave me a chalice of poison
Even then they weren’t satisfied
I had only said the truth

leke jaha bhi waqt gaya hai
zulm mila hai zulm saha hai
sach ka ye inaam mila hai
sachchi baat kahi thee maine

Wherever it was that time took me
I was wronged, I tolerated injustice
This was my reward for honesty
I had only said the truth

sab se behtar kabhi na ban’na
jag ke rehbar kabhi na ban’na
peer pa’yambar kabhi na ban’na
sachchi baat kahi thee maiNe

Don’t ever be better than the best
Don’t be the protector of the entire world
Don’t be the messenger of sainthood
I had only said the truth

chup rehkar hi waqt guzaarO
sach kehne pe jaaN math waaro
kuch to seekho muJh se Yaaro
sachchi baat kahi thee maiNe

Stay silent and let time pass y
Don’t waste your life speaking the truth
Learn something from me, my friends
I had only said the truth

Here is a link to the ghazal –