Tags

, , ,

Dehleez means threshold (of a home, of pain or anything else) and is sometimes loosely used to mean entrance of a home as well. This lafz is often used in Urdu poetry.

Here is the popular song Jeena Jeena from the recently released movie Badlapur, which begins with this lafz, in the context of the heart, and has been sung wonderfully by Atif Aslam. The lyrics are written by Dinesh Vijan and Priya Saraiya. Enjoy!

Dehleez pe mere dil ki
Jo rakhe hain tune kadam
Tere naam pe meri zindagi
Likh di mere humdum

Haan seekha maine jeena jeena kaise jeena
Haan seekha maine jeena mere humdum
Na seekha kabhi jeena jeena kaise jeena
Na seekha jeena tere bina humdum
Hmmm.. hmmm..

Sacchi si hain yeh taareefein
Dil se jo maine kari hain…
Sacchi si hain yeh taareefein
Dil se jo maine kari hain…

Jo tu mila to saji hain
Duniya meri humdum
O aasma mila zameen ko meri
Aadhe aadhe poore hain hum
Tere naam pe meri zindagi
Likh di mere humdum

Haan seekha maine jeena jeena, kaise jeena
Haan seekha maine jeena, mere humdum
Na seekha kabhi jeena jeena kaise jeena
Na seekha jeena tere bina humdum

Hmmm… hmmm..

English translation is below:

When you stepped across the threshold of my heart
I wrote your name on my life, my soulmate
And I Iearnt how to live, I learnt how to live
I hadn’t learnt how to live earlier, Now I don’t know how to live without you, my soulmate

Hmmm….Hmmmm….
These are true, my praises for you
They come straight from my heart
Since we met, life seems more beautiful, my soulmate
The Earth I stand on, has finally got a sky
Your half and my half together, have been one

I wrote your name on my life, my soulmate
And I Iearnt how to live, I learnt how to live
I hadn’t learnt how to live earlier, Now I don’t know how to live without you, my soulmate

Hmmm…hmmm…

Link to the song: