, ,

Gulzar's Pluto PoemsWe can always count on Gulzar saab to make an ordinary, far-away occurrence, an endearing one making it personal, somehow. This is his poetic explanation for his wonderful book of short poems – “Gulzar’s Pluto Poems” (translated in English by Nirupama Dutt) – where he addresses his pet themes of relationships, God or his absence, nature and the nature of Time itself, with characteristic wit and brevity.

Pluto lost its status as a planet recently. Scientists said: “Away with you. We will not include you in our family of nine planets…you are not one”.
I had lost my place long ago when my family said: “How come a mirasi in a family of businessmen?”
Silence echoed that you are not one of us.
 My heart is saddened at Pluto’s sorrow on being rejected thus. It is so far away, so tiny…so all my ‘pint- sized’ poems I gift to it.
Some moments are fleeting, ephemeral. We often fail to grasp them. I like to hoard them. As far as the themes are concerned , many poems in this collection are unconventional … but then that is not such a bad thing, is it?