Tags

, , , , ,

Musafir- Traveller, Stranger

A beautiful couplet by Poet Iqbal expresses the word Musafir very beautifully.

Dhoondta phirta hoon aye Iqbal apne aapko
Aap hi goya musafir, aap hi manzil hun main

I keep looking, oh Iqbal, for myself,
As if I’m the traveler as well as the destination.

 

*Given below are the lyrics of the song “Musafir Hoon Yaaron” from the film titled Parichay (1972). The Lyrics are written by Gulzar, and the song is sung by Kishore Kumar.

Musafir Hoon Yaaron Na Ghar Hai Na Tikhana
Friends I am a wonderer/ traveler I do not have home and address

Mujhe Chalte Jaana Hai Bas Chalte Jaana
I have to travel and travel

Ek Raah Rukh Gayi Tho Aur Judh Gayi
When one road  ends another connects

Main Mura Tho Saath Saath Raha Murgayi
When I turn the road turns with me

Hawaon Ke Paron Par Mera Ashiana
My home is at the feet of air

Musafir Hoon Yaaron Na Ghar Hai Na Tikhana
Friends I am a  traveler I do not have home and address

Mujhe Chalte Jaana Hai Bas Chalte Jaana
I have to travel and travel

Din Ne Haath Thaam Kar Idhar Bithaliya
The day made me wonder and sit here

Raat Ne Ishaare Se Udhar Bulahliya
Darkness signalled me to sit there

Subah se Shaam Se Mera Dostana
For me evening and morning are like best friends

Musafir Hoon Yaaron Na Ghar Hai Na Tikhana
Friends I am a  traveler I do not have home and address

Mujhe Chalte Jaana Hai Bas Chalte Jaana
I have to travel and travel

You can hear the song on this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6GDG7E1fUkU

