Tags

, , ,

Sarmaayah means wealth or capital, used so wonderfully to express love and respect in this popular song from Imtiaz Ali’s blockbuster film Jab We Met

Jab We MetNa hai yeh pana, na khona hi hai
Tera na hona jane, kyun hona hi hai
Tum se hi din hota hai, surmaiye shaam aati, tumse hi, tumse hi
Har ghadi saans aati hai, zindagi kehlati hai, tumse hi, tumse hi
Na hai yeh pana, na khona hi hai,  Tera na hona jane, kyun hona hi hai..

Aankhon mein ankhein teri, bahoon mein baahein teri
Mera na mujhmein kuch raha, hua kya
Baaton mein baatein teri, raatein saugatein teri
Kyun tera sab yeh ho gaya, hua kya
Main kahin bhi jata hoon, tumse hi mil jata hoon, tumse hi, tumse hi
Shoor mein khamoshi hai, thodi si behoshi hai, tum se hi, tum se hi

Aadha sa wada kabhi, aadhe se jayada kabhi
Jee chaahe kar lu is tarah wafa ka
Chhode na chhoote kabhi, tode na tute kabhi
Jo dhaga tumse jud gaya wafa ka
Main tera sarmaayah hoon, jo main ban paya hoon, tumse hi, tumse hi
Raaste mil jaate hai, manzile mil jaati hai, tumse hi, tumse hi
Na hai yeh paana, na khona hi hai
Tera na hona jaane kyun hona hi hai

English translation is below:
It isn’t in my favor, but it isn’t a loss either
You are not here, but still i am feeling that you are here

My day starts with you
The blackness of the night descends with you, only with you, ‘cause of you

I take each breath,  I live this life
because of you

I see this world through your eyes
In my arms, are your arms
Nothing of mine is left in me
What is this happened to me?

I speak as if you are speaking
My nights are your gift to me
How did everything in me become yours, how did this happen

Wherever i may go,
I end up meeting you there, only you…
because of you…

There is silence in the clamor
And a bit of unconsciousness, there ,
because of you, because of you..

A half-promise sometimes
Sometimes more than a half
I wish to make such promises of love to you
Even if i want to, i can’t leave you
Even if i try to, it does not break
This bond of love made with you
I am your wealth, everything that I have been able to become
Is because of you, because of you
I find my path
I find the destinations
because of you, because of you

