, , ,

Inayat means kindness, grace, gift

Here is a ghazal by Sudarshan Faakir which laments the end of a relationship and uses this lafz in the first line:

Zakhm jo aap ki inayat hai, is nishani ko kya naam de hum
pyar deewar ban ke reh gaya hai, is kahani ko kya naam de hum
aap ilzaam dhar gaye hum par, ek ehsaan kar gaye hum par
aap ki ye meherbani hai, meherbani ko kya naam de hum
aap ko yun hi zindagi samjha, dhoop ko hum ne chaandni samaha
bhool hi bhool jis ki aadat hai, is jawani ko naam kya de hum
raat sapna bahar ka dekha, din hua to gubar sa dekha
bewafa waqt bezuban nikala, bezubani ko naam kya de hum

This wound, this hurt that is your grace (on me), what name do I give to this token (of your love)
Our love has been reduced to a wall, what name do I give to this story
You left me with the blame, you did me a favour (a courtesy)
This favour of yours, what name do I give to this favour
I thought of you as my life, in vain, I thought of sunlight as the light of the moon
Whose habit it is to forget again and again, what name do I give to this youthfulness (of mine)
The night showed me a happy dream, the day turned it to dust
This disloyal time turned silent, what name do I give to this silence

Here is a link to the ghazal in Jagjit & Chitra Singh’s voices: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zwzuYz0rAac


Inayat Khan (July 5, 1882 – February 5, 1927) was also the name of the founder of The Sufi Order in the West in 1914 (London) and teacher of Universal Sufism. He initially came to the West as a Northern Indian classical musician, having received the honorific “Tansen” from the Nizam of Hyderabad, but he soon turned to the introduction and transmission of Sufi thought and practice. Later, in 1923, the Sufi Order of the London period was dissolved into a new organization, formed under Swiss law, called the “International Sufi Movement”. His message of divine unity (Tawhid) focused on the themes of love, harmony and beauty. He taught that blind adherence to any book rendered religion void of spirit. Branches of Inayat Khan’s movement can be found in the Netherlands, France, England, Germany, the United States, Canada, Russia and Australia. (Source:wikipedia)