, , , ,

Sargoshi means a whisper

Here are a few examples of the usage of this beautiful word in poetry –

A couplet by Iftikhar Imam Siddiqui, also sung by Chitra Singh

daayir-e-inkaar ke iqaraar kii sargoshiyaan
ye agar toote kabhii to faasalaa reh jaayegaa

The whispers of my agreement to the rejection of my wish
If these were to break, a distance would remain

Sargoshi has also been used in the song from the movie One 2 Ka 4 –
Khamoshiyan Gungana Ne Lagi
Tanhaiyaan Muskuraane Lagi
Sargoshi Kare Hawa, Chupke Se Mujhe Kaha
Dil Ka Haal Bata, Dilbar Se Na Chhupha
Sun Ke Baat Yeh Sharm Se Meri Aankhen Jhuk Jaane Lagi

Silences have begun to sing
Loneliness has begun to smile
The winds whisper, quietly they are telling me
The state of my heart, don’t hide from my beloved
I blushed, when I heard what it had to say

Link to the above song – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EULA9keCjUE

Here is also the title song from the Pakistani TV drama, Zindagi Gulzar Hai, written by Naseer Turabi and sung by Hadiqa Kiani, which uses ‘sargoshi’ in one of its verses. 

Raat kya aayi ke tanhai ki sargoshi mein
Gham ka aalam tha magar, sunte sunate guzri
Tujhse kya kehte, tere paas jo aate guzri

At night the whispers of solitude beckoned
The mood was of sadness, that (life) spoke as she passed by
What would she say, as she passed by

Link to the song –  Zindagi Gulzar Hai