Tags

, , , , , ,

Masroof (also written as Masruf) – busy/engaged/employed

This word is used in a poem written by Lyricist Sahir Ludhianvi, an excerpt of which is given below:

“kal aur aayenge naghmo ki khilti kalian chunnewale, mujhse behtar kehnewale, tumse behtar sunne wale; kal koi mujhko yaad kare, kyun koi mujhko yaad kare, masroof zamana mere liye kyun waqt apna barbad kare?”

Translation: Tomorrow there will be more who will narrate the love poems. May be someone narrating better than me. May be someone listening better than you. Why should anyone remember me? Why should anyone remember me? Why should the busy age waste it’s time for me?Why should the busy age waste it’s time for me?

You can hear the song here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMwvQLXt_M8

Another interesting couplet is given below:

Itne Kahan Masroof ho gaye tum, 
jo dil dukhane bhi Ab nahi Aate
( we could not find the name of the poet)
 
Translation: 
How have you become so busy,
You don’t even have the time to cause me pain.