Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Wafaa means faithful/fidelity

Bewafaa means unfaithful. Both these words  ” wafaa” and ” bewafaa”  are used in many Hindi songs.

The word “wafaa” is used in a song titled ” dil ke armaan aansuon mein beh gae ” in the film ‘Nikaah’ produced and directed by BR Chopra in 1982. The film starred Raj Babbar, Deepak Parashar and Salma Agha who has also sung this song. The lyrics with the translation is given below.

 
dil ke armaan aansuon mein beh gae 
My heart’s desires flowed out in my tears
ham wafaa karake bhi tanahaa reh gae 
Even as I kept faith in you, I remained so lonely.
zindagi ek pyaas banakar reh gai
Life became an unquenchable thirst
pyaar ke qisse adhuure reh gae 
and love stories stayed incomplete.
ham wafaa karake bhi tanahaa reh gae 
Even as I kept faith in you, I remained so lonely.
shaayad unakaa aakhiri ho yeh sitam 
Perhaps this will be his last atrocity
har sitam yeh sochakar ham seh gae 
this is what I thought as I endured each one.
ham wafaa karake bhi tanahaa rah gae 
Even as I kept faith in you, I remained so lonely.
Kud ko bhi hamane mitaa Daalaa magar 
I obliterated myself but
faasle jo daramiyaan the reh gae 
the distances between us remained.
ham wafaa karake bhii tanahaa reh gae 
Even as I kept faith with you, I remained so lonely.
 
You can hear the song here:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=phm2Tk_AkbY

OTHER USAGE:

Wafa also known as the Palestine News Agency, is the news agency of the Palestine National Authority. Wafa provides daily news from Palestine territories, Israel and the Middle East and is available in English, Arabic, French and Hebrew making it a major source of information over current events for those regions.

Wafaa is a common female name given in the Arab world.It is spelled with a double a at the end to compensate for the letter “hamza” at the end of the name. Phonetically it is pronounced with a cut.

