, , ,

This soulful song from the 1961 film Hum Dono was penned by Sahir Ludhianvi and sung by Mohammed Rafi. The song is a beautiful toast to the spirit with which one should take hard times and defeats on ones stride and keep moving on…

Main Zindagi Ka Saath Nibhata Chala Gaya
Har Fikr Ko Dhuen Mein Udaata Chala Gaya

I just kept going on as a companion to my life,
Kept on blowing every worry into smoke..

Barbadiyon Ka Shok Manana Fizool Tha
Barbadiyon Ka Jashan Manata Chala Gaya
Har Fikar Ko Dhuen Mein Uda

it seemed pointless to be sad for the ruinings of life, of the things I lost
So I just celebrated the ruinings instead..

Jo Mil Gaya Usi Ko Muqaddar Samajh Liya
Jo Kho Gaya Maein Usko Bhulata Chala Gaya
Har Fikar Ko Dhuen Mein Uda

Anything that I got, I considered that as my fate,
Anything I lost, I just forgot about it and kept moving on

Gham Aur Khushi Mein Farq Na Mehsoos Ho Jahan
Main Dil Ko Us Muqaam Pe Laata Chala Gaya
Har Fikar Ko Dhuen Mein Uda

That place where there is no difference felt between sorrow and joy,
I kept myself bringing to that point..