Tags

, , ,

Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (English: The Brave Hearted Will Take the Bride), also known as DDLJ, is a Hindi language film released on 20 October 1995. The film marked the directorial debut of Aditya Chopra,  who also wrote the story. It was produced by his

Dilwale-Dulhania-Le-Jayenge

Dilwale-Dulhania-Le-Jayenge

late father Yash Copra under the banner of Yash Raj Films.

The film was declared an all-time blockbuster and it remains as the longest-running film in the history of Indian Cinema. As of 2012, it is still playing at the Maratha Mandir theatre in Mumbai.

Below is the poem the protagonist Simran recites while describing her unfound love.

 
 
 
 
 
 
Aisa pehli baar hua hai satrah athrah saalon mein
Undekha anjaana koi aane laga hai khayalon mein
Aankhon ki khidki par ek saya sa lehrata hai
Dil ke darwaze par koi dastak de ke jaata hai
Gheri gheri kaali aankhen mujhse mujhko poochti hai
Haaton ki rekhaon mein ek chehra sa ban jata hai
Uski saanse resham jaisi gaalo ko chu jaati hai
Uske haaton ki khushboo hai ab tak mere balon mein
Haan, aisa pehli baar hua hai satrah athrah saalon mein
Undekha anjaana koi aane laga hai khayalon mein
 
TRANSLATION
this has happened first time in 17-18 years of my life,
an unknown unseen stranger comes in my dreams,
an illusion is cast in front of my eyes,
someone knocks at the door of my heart,
my deep black eyes seem to ask me,
a face formation seems to from the lines on my palm,
his sliky breaths touches my cheeks,
the fragrance of his hands is still there in my hair,
this has happened to me first time in 17-18 years of my life,
an unknown unseen stranger comes in my dreams

Below is the clip from the film.

*Urduwallahs pay a tribute to Master Filmmaker Yash Chopra through the month of November.