, , , , , , ,

Gila means blame/complaint

Gila, Shikwa, and Shikayat are three common Urdu words with similar meaning: Reproach, or complaint.

While all three are nouns, gila and shikayat are generally also used as a verb by saying ‘gila karna’ or ‘shikayat karna,’ both literally meaning ‘to complain.’

Keukenhof Garden -Netherlands

Keukenhof Garden -Netherlands

The word Gila is effectively used in the song “Dekha ek Khwab to” in the film Silsila directed by Yash Chopra. Incidentally this song was shot in the Keukenhof ( meaning kitchen garden in Dutch) tulip gardens in Netherlands and some parts in Pahalgam.

The lyrics are translated below:

Dekha Ek Khwaab To Yeh Silsile Hue
I saw a dream and therefore this series of events happened.
Door Tak Nigahon Mein Hain Gul Khile Hue
Far and wide, I see roses blooming in my eyes
Yeh Gila Hai Aapki Nigahon Se
I have this complaint with your eyes
Phool Bhi Ho Darmiyaan To Faasle Hue
Even flowers between us create (too much) distance.
Dekha Ek Khwaab…
I saw a dream…

Meri Saanson Mein Basi Khushboo Teri
Your fragnance is embedded in my breath
Yeh Tere Pyaar Ki Hai Jadugari
This is the magic of your love.
Teri Aawaz Hai Hawaaon Mein
Your voice is in the winds
Pyar Ka Rang Hai fizaaon mein
The color of our love is in the atmosphere
Dhadkanon Mein Tere Geet Hain Mile Hue
Your song is mixed with my heartbeats
Kya Kahun Ke Sharm Se Hain Lub Sile Hue
What can I say? My lips are sealed due to shyness.
Dekha Ek Khwaab…
I saw a dream..

Mera Dil Hai Teri Panaahon mein
My heart is in your shelter
Aa Chhupa Loon Tujhe Main in Baahon Mein
Let me hide you in these arms.
Teri Tasveer Hai Nigaahon Mein
Your picture is in my eyes..
Door Tak Roshni Hai Raahon Mein
Far and wide there is light in the paths.
Kal Agar Na Roshni Ke Kaafile Hue
If tomorrow there is no light
Pyar Ke Hazaar Deep Hain Jale Hue
There are a thousand lanterns of our love burning brightly
Dekha Ek Khwaab

You can hear the song here

  • Urduwallahs pay a tribute to Master Filmmaker Yash Chopra through the month of November.