, , , ,


Did you know that Chilean poet Pablo Neruda (1904-1973) and Faiz Ahmad Faiz (1910-1984) were contemporary poets, friends and outstanding humanists. Their works won global recognition—Neruda was honoured with Nobel Prize for literature and Faiz won Lenin Peace Prize. Both Neruda and Faiz, like many others, notably Nazim Hikmet and Mahmoud Darwish, were essentially anti-colonialists and anti-imperialists. Their great struggles and works were interwoven.

Excerpt from Faiz’s poem :

Aur bhi dukh hain mohabbat ke dukh ke siwa
Rahatein aur bhi hain wasl ki raahat ke siwa

Other pains exist than those that love brings,
Other joys exist than those of lovers’ mingling.

Excerpt from Pablo’s poem :

And it was at that age … Poetry arrived 
in search of me.

I don’t know, I don’t know where 
it came from,

from winter or a river.

I don’t know how or when,

no they were not voices,

they were not 
words, nor silence,

but from a street I was summoned,

from the branches of night,

abruptly from the others,

among violent fires 
or returning alone,

there I was without a face

and it touched me.